Well, I’m buried in paperwork~~

100_1846In this new and enlightened society, along with all the new technology, why does it seem that we are overwhelmed with paper? Seriously, I worked for a bank that went paperless several years ago, yet after the conversion, it seemed we were using so much more!! Yeah, the processing of the physical checks was gone, but in the process, we were printing out more and more reports, copies, files, even though we saved to our wonderful computers, we still had tons of paper!

I’m more than guilty of the “better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it” syndrome, heck, I’ve just now started shredding old tax papers and find myself getting nervous if it’s less than 10 years old!! The rule of thumb is 7 years for personal taxes, but I always feel like the second I actually recycle or shred something, 10 minutes later, I’ll find a need for it.

And computers crash. And a lot of people don’t back up their files. And thankfully, I have an extremely tech savvy daughter who set up my external hard drive so that it automatically backs up my files every day. That’s not to say that I can actually find them if I ever needed them, but at least they’re there. But it took me over two years to actually have her do that for me, so who knows what might have happened had my PC crashed in the interim. Luckily, I don’t have to worry about that anymore.

Still, I like my paper, I like my books, I like the physicality of holding the items in my hand. It will probably be a long time before I ever actually eliminate paper from my life, if ever, so for the time being, I’m buried in paperwork, and I guess I’ll continue to do so.

Leave a Reply

