Going back to college…

Well, I’ve been pushing this off for the last 20+ years (if I’m honest with myself) and decided to finally do something about it. Since I take care of my 83 year old Mother in Law, I need to stay home, which is the main reason I’m going with online classes. Plus, I’ve had a recurring dream throughout my adult life about college–something along the lines of “running to get to class-never making it-having a ton of homework that completely overwhelms me-getting to class but can’t get in the door”, all that scary, I can’t-do-it kinda stuff. 

So, it’s online classes, and I’m going to forego the Organizational Psychology major that I originally intended (too many years ago than I care to count) in favor of Business Administration. I’ve done my due diligence, checked out all the (millions) of online classes, filed my FAFSA (yes, I can get help there and was approved, YAY!) and started my assessment testing. Since it’s been so long, and I never took the SAT’s when I was in High School, and didn’t complete the OrgPsych or Hotel/Motel Management classes that I initially took (no credits), gotta start from scratch.

That’s okay too. Gives me the opportunity to hone my study skills, see how much I really know (versus how much I THINK I know) and ease into this whole new phase of my life. 

Now that I’m no longer working outside the home (after 23 years at the same bank), my youngest is graduating from High School, my middle child is starting her 4th year in college…well, I guess I have no excuse NOT to do it. But that’s not my only impetus, I really have wanted to go back to college, just couldn’t seem to muster up the courage to go through with all the steps. 

Added to the whole kitschy factor, this means that my two youngest and I will all be in college at the same time. Weird? No, I don’t think so. In this day and age, more and more people are going back to college and it just doesn’t matter how old(ish) you are.  Now if I can just get the girls to help me with my homework without compromising their own studies!!ImageImageImage

3 Comments Add yours

  1. TheGhostHybrid says:

    I think it’ll actually be super cool that we’ll all be in college together-yet-not. On the one hand, we’ll all be literally in college. We’ll be sharing in the higher learning experience and broadening our understanding of more specific fields of study. On the other hand, none of us are attending the same institution.

    I’m attending a public, huge, mostly-commuter university. Sis is attending a private, national, narrow-range institute. You’re attending an online, diverse, extended-learning college.

    I think the kinds of conversation we’ll be able to have once you and Sis get started will be quite interesting—I look forward to seeing just how different AND unified our experiences will be!

  2. I’m just hoping I can make it through the homework!!

    1. TheGhostHybrid says:

      Ah, here’s why I wasn’t notified of your response: you didn’t reply directly to my comment, like I am now. =)

      You’ll do great, I’m sure!

Leave a Reply

